David T Blackstock Mentorship Award

Congratulations to Prof. Thomas Moore

Recipient of the Fall 2021  David T Blackstock Mentorship Award!

Prof. Thomas Moore is the recipient of the Fall 2021 David T Blackstock Mentorship award. Prof. Moore is a professor of Physics at Rollins College where his research emphasizes collaborating with students to study the physics of musical instruments, with an emphasis on applying laser technology to investigate acoustical phenomena.



The ASA Student Council is currently accepting applications for the Spring 2021 David T Blackstock Mentorship Award. If you know of a deserving member of ASA who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring and supervising students, please nominate them for this award. Complete details about the award and the application process can be found in the Call for Nominations.

How to Apply

To apply, one primary nominator should submit a single submission containing the following materials.

  • An Application Form
  • Award Nominee’s (mentor’s) current CV
  • Letter of support from the primary nominator
  • Letters of support from one to three additional nominators

The deadline for applications is Tuesday, October 1st, 2020. All applications should be submitted by the deadline to

By email:    asa@acousticalsociety.org

Application for this award will be considered for three consecutive award cycles or 4.5 years. If an application is initially unsuccessful, it will be considered for the next two award cycles. If you would like to make small updates to an unsuccessful application from a previous year, please complete and fill out the Updates Form and submit it, along with the original application, by the application deadline. After the 3 award cycles, a new full application should be submitted for further consideration.

About the Award

The David T Blackstock Mentorship Award (previously known as the Student Council Mentor Award) was created by the ASA Student Council, and it was first awarded in 2004. The intent of the award is to recognize those who show excellence in a wide variety of mentoring areas. Specific selection criteria are available in the Call for Nominations.


Call for Nominations — Details about applications process and criteria for selection

Application Form — To submit a new applications

Updates Form — To add additional or updated information to a previously submitted application

Past Recipients

Prof. Thomas Moore Rollins College Fall 2021
Prof. Patrice Beddor Universtiy of Michigan Fall 2019
Prof. Lynne Werner University of Washington Spring 2018
Prof. Daniel Russell The Pennsylvania State University Fall 2016
Prof. Lily Wang University of Nebraska-Lincoln Spring 2015
Prof. Barbara Shinn-Cunningham Boston University Fall 2013
Prof. Stephen Dance London South Bank University Fall 2012
Prof. Christy Holland University of Cincinnati Fall 2010
Prof. Kenneth Suslick University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign Fall 2009
Prof. David Dowling University of Michigan Fall 2007
Prof. Lawrence Crum University of Washington Spring 2006
Prof. David Blackstock University of Texas at Austin Fall 2004